Skip to content

Maine Learner's Permit DMV Test Prep

Maine Learner's Permit DMV Practice Tests - 2021

Pass the Maine Learner's Permit test with confidence! Our Maine Learner's Permit DMV practice test questions & detailed answer explanations are up to date with latest 2021 rules and regulations. Our driver's ed program has helped thousands of test-takers pass their Maine Learner's Permit DMV test and comes with a 100% Pass Money-Back Guarantee!

Get 750+ Maine Learner's Permit practice test questions that are similar to the ones you will find on the actual Maine Learner's Permit test. Our tests include road signs, rules of the road, traffic control devices, safety, vehicle operation and general driving knowledge. You also get access to our online vocabulary flashcards, driver's ed videos, and instant access to your Maine Learner's Permit DMV manual!

Our DMV Driving Test Prep Includes:

  • 750+ DMV Test Questions & Answers
  • On-The-Road Driver's Ed Videos
  • Take Unlimited DMV Tests For 1 Year
  • Practice Mode & Timed Exam Mode
  • DMV Vocab Flashcards & Glossary
  • Your State DMV Driving Manual
  • Rules & Regulations Updated 2021
  • Support From DMV Liability Attorney

Can't find the state test you are looking for?

We have a practice test for all 50 states including Puerto Rico. Simply click on the button to see our full list of both permit and drivers tests that are available.

DMV FREE TRIAL TEST

Answered Questions

/ 20

Gain instant access to 750+ DMV driver's test practice question (updated 2021) that are similar to the ones you will find on the actual DMV test.

Driver's License Test Study Vocabulary Flashcards & Keyword Glossary. You must know your vocabulary terms to pass. This is very important!

"Being able to take the DMV tests on my computer or phone was a big help. I used any free time I had to study. I felt totally prepared taking that test..."

Customer Support Services With a Department of Motor Vehiciles Attorney - If you have any questions at all please contact us.

Pass The Maine Learner's Permit Test!

Our Maine driver's test prep has helped thousands of test takers to pass their Maine Learner's Permit test.


Our Maine's Learner's Permit exam prep comes with hundreds of Learner's Permit test questions that apply to Maine. Gain instant access to vocabulary flashcards, and Maine driver's ed videos.


Our Maine Learner's Permit test prep program has helped thousands of test takers pass their exam, and comes with a 100% Pass Money-Back Guarantee!

Pass The Driver's License Test Guaranteed

MAINE DRIVER’S LICENSING

FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS (FAQ’s)

What is the minimum age to get a learner’s permit in Maine?
  • You are eligible to get a Learner’s Permit in Maine when you are 15 years old
  • The learner’s permit allows you to operate a vehicle when accompanied by a licensed driver who is at least 20 years of age and has held a valid license for two years
  • Parental signature on the application is required if driver is under 18 years old
  • Your learner's permit expires after two years. Permits cannot be renewed, but you can get additional two-year permits as needed
What is the minimum age to get a driver’s license in Maine?

You are eligible for a Maine Driver’s License when you are 16 and over and meet all of the requirements

What are the requirements to get a Maine Driver’s License?

Maine law requires a 3-step graduated drivers licensing system for new drivers who are under 18 years of age, as well as restrictions for drivers under 21 years of age. The law is intended to allow Maine's young people to gain valuable driving experience under lower risk conditions.

To obtain a learner's permit, applicants must be at least 15 years of age and successfully complete the written driving examination. The BMV schedules these examinations through the application process: Applicants must submit:

  • Application form
  • $35 fee
  • Two forms of identification (See required identification documents )
  • Proof of residency
  • Driver education completion certificate (applicants who are under 18 years old ONLY)
  • A birth certificate (applicants under the age of 23 only)

The application can be submitted at your local Bureau of Motor Vehicles branch or mailed

Once the application is processed, the BMV will schedule the applicant for the written test, at the location closest in proximity to the applicant's mailing address, within about three weeks. The BMV will notify the person by mail. If the applicant has scheduling restrictions, those should be noted along with the application, and those requests will be accommodated when possible, based on the dates/times and testing location availability. Contact information is provided on the scheduling notice, and tests can be rescheduled with no penalty fee up to 48 hours prior

NOTE: If you completed driver education, another written test is not required and upon submission of the appropriate paperwork. A permit will be issued.

Ready for your road test? Visit our Exams page to learn more about scheduling and preparing for your test. The Exams page includes a study guide and a video that gives you a first-hand look at the entire road test experience.

15-17 YEARS OLD APPLICANTS
  • If a permit is issued to a person under 21 years of age that person must hold the permit for 6 months before applying for a road test and are prohibited from using a cellular phone while operating with a permit
  • If a permit is issued to a person under 21 years of age, they must log 70 hours of driving and 10 of the hours must be done after dark
  • If a permit expires, the person must take an exam for a new permit, but will not be required to wait before applying for a road test. The restriction from using a cellular phone still applies.
  • To apply for your driver's license, you must be at least 16 years of age and have completed an approved driver education course. You must successfully complete a road test. You are required to complete 70 hours of practice driving, which must include 10 hours of night driving, and have held your learner's permit for at least six months.  The 70 hours of practice driving must begin after you have been issued a learner's permit. You must be accompanied by a supervising driver who is at least 20 years old and has held a license for at least two years

A license issued to a person under the age of 18 is an intermediate license, which prohibits the licensee from the following:

  • Carrying passengers other than immediate family members unless accompanied by a licensed operator
  • A person who is under court-appointed guardianship of an immediate family member; and
  • Operating a motor vehicle between the hours of 12 a.m. and 5 a.m.; and
  • Operating a motor vehicle while using a mobile telephone

A person must hold an intermediate license for 270 days from the date the license was originally issued before they can receive an unrestricted license

During the intermediate license period, violation of these license restrictions, will result in the extension of the intermediate license restrictions and license suspension. An operator's license is considered a provisional license for two years following initial issuance. The intermediate restrictions above do not apply after 270 days, but a conviction for any moving violation during the two year provisional license term will still result in license suspension

18-20 YEARS OLD APPLICANTS
  • If a permit is issued to a person under 21 years of age, that person must hold the permit for 6 months before applying for a road test and are prohibited from using a handheld electronic device or mobile telephone while operating with a permit
  • If a permit is issued to a person under 21 years of age, they must log 70 hours of driving and 10 of the hours must be done after dark
  • If a permit expires, the person must take an exam for a new permit but will not be required to wait before applying for a road test. The restriction from using a handheld electronic device or mobile telephone still applies
  • If you are 18 years of age or older, you are not required to complete driver education
  • You must successfully complete a road test. If you are under 21 years of age, you are required to complete 70 hours of practice driving, which must include 10 hours of night driving, and have held your learner's permit for at least six months. The 70 hours of practice driving must begin after you have been issued a learner's permit. You must be accompanied by a supervising driver who is at least 20 years old and has held a license for at least two years
  • The first license issued to a new applicant who is between the ages of 16-20 is a juvenile provisional license for a period of two years. The provisional license is in effect for a full 2-year period as long as the first license that was issued occurred prior to the 21st birthday.  The provisional phase does not end when a person turns 21. If you are a juvenile provisional license holder and are within the first two years of your license, a conviction for any moving violation will result in the suspensions listed below. Additionally, if you are convicted of operating under the influence prior to reaching 21 years of age, your license will be viewed as a juvenile provisional license for law enforcement purposes, even if you have already held the license for two years
21+ YEARS OLD APPLICANTS
  • If you are 21 years of age or older, you are not required to complete a driver education course or log driving hours.
  • If a permit is issued to a person 21 years of age and over, that person does not have to wait 6 months before applying for a road test, however, they are prohibited from using a handheld electronic device or mobile telephone while operating with a permit
  • The first license issued to a new applicant 21 years of age or older is a provisional license for a period of one year. During the provisional license period, a conviction for any moving violation, will result in license suspension
What documents are required to apply for a Maine Learner’s Permit or Driver’s License for the first time?

Applicants must provide:

  • Two forms of identification (See required identification documents )
  • Proof of residency
  • Driver education completion certificate (applicants who are under 18 years old ONLY)
  • A birth certificate (applicants under the age of 23 only)
What is the Phone Number for the Maine Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV)?

The Maine Motor Vehicle Office main phone number is: 207-624-9000

The telephone directory for Maine’s Bureau of Motor Vehicles for Driver Licenses is located here: https://www.maine.gov/sos/bmv/numbers/index.html

What is the Website for Maine’s Bureau of Motor Vehicles for Driver Licenses & ID's?

The Website for Maine’s Bureau of Motor Vehicles for Driver Licenses & ID's is:

https://www.maine.gov/sos/bmv/licenses/index.html

Maine’s main DMV website is: https://www.maine.gov/sos/

Where are Driver’s Licenses and Instruction Permits issued in Maine?

Maine DMV office locations can be found here:

https://www.maine.gov/sos/bmv/locations/index.html

Does a Parent or Guardian Need to Take Me to the written Permit Test?

If you are under 18 years old, a parental signature on the application is required. If a parent is unavailable, you can bring a licensed driver over 21 years old

Is a Vision Test Required before getting a Maine Driver’s License?

A vision test is required prior to issuance of a learner's permit when you appear for your written examination. You can also have your own doctor provide the exam and fill out the eye form. You must provide the completed form to the driver's license examiner at the time of your driver's examination

Do I have to undergo a physical to obtain a Maine Driver’s License?

A physical exam is not required to obtain a Maine Learner’s Permit or Driver’s License, but there are certain medically required standards, which are available here:

https://www.maine.gov/sos/bmv/licenses/medical.html

Do I Need to Provide a Driver’s License photo?

A photograph will be taken at the Maine BMV office

What are the Steps After Applying for a Maine Learner’s Permit?

Once you pass the permit test, you should prepare for your road test. If you are under 21 years old, you must hold an instruction permit for at least 6 months and get at least 35 hours of driving practice, including 5 hours of night driving. You must be accompanied by   licensed driver.  If you are at least 21 years old, you have to wait at least 3 months to take your road test

Wait Don't Leave!

Get an Extra Practice Test

When You Register Today